UCSF home page UCSF home page About UCSF UCSF Medical Center
UCSF navigation bar

Innovative Grants Program


  1. Research
  2. Clinical Development


Research Proposals

The NIPLH is seeking submissions for innovative research proposals. Proposals likely to have the most impact will be funded. In addition to high quality of science and innovative approaches, other key components of impact include projects likely to lead to extramural funding for which there is no other funding available.

Unlike the first five years of the NIPLH, this 2016 RFA will consider any topic in Pulmonary Medicine. This year there is no limitation to specific themes. However, projects related to the underserved will merit special consideration for acceptance.

Research proposals can be in clinical, translational or bench research, innovative partnerships between clinical and bench research, or in the development of broadly useful and innovative methodologies.

  1. Cellular and molecular mechanisms of lung disease: studies using in vitro and in vivo models of lung disease to reveal mechanisms and suggest novel treatment approaches.
  2. Translational research in lung disease: human studies focused on biomarkers or interventions that advance knowledge of disease mechanisms or disease biomarkers.
  3. Clinical research in lung disease: studies using patient cohorts to advance understanding of disease epidemiology, disease impact, or disease natural history.
  4. Implementation Science (IS): studies focused on integrating research findings and evidence into “real-world” settings. Implementation science recognizes that the impact of interventions is often only a fraction of what was observed in tightly controlled clinical trials or cohort settings.

Clinical Program Development Proposals

The NIPLH will also consider innovations for clinical program development for funding. Such programmatic support can address any topic in pulmonary medicine. Submissions will be favored that would provide key missing infrastructure to promote the success of any pulmonary divisional activity. Submissions should explain how such temporary infrastructure funding would lead to future self sustaining program benefit.

Proposals: Research and Clinical Development:

Anticipated funding amounts will range from $50,000-$80,000 per year per award for one or two years (no overhead allowed).

If a two-year proposal is submitted, the plan of work proposed for each of the years should be clearly delineated with a timeline and related budget. In addition, two-year grant submissions should include 10 month of year 01 milestones. If funded, a progress report at month 10 of year 01, regarding these expected milestones will be evaluated to determine if proposals qualify for release of the second year of funding. The second year of funding is not guaranteed.

Proposals budgeted with prominent salary support for established investigators will not be considered responsive to the goals and objectives of this call for proposals. Further, the PI cannot hold an academic appointment above the Associate Professor level at the time of award initiation.

The number of awards and apportionment between Research and Clinical Development Proposals will depend on the quality of the grants.


Applicant Requirements

All UCSF faculty, Associate Professor and below, are eligible to apply. Applicants applying for the 2016 NIPLH grants cannot have two prior consecutive awards (2014 and 2015) and cannot apply if an on-going NIPLH grant would overlap with a 2016 award.

Partnerships between and among faculty are encouraged, as are applications from non-pulmonary investigators whose work could impact lung disease.

Proposals can include collaborations with non-UCSF investigators.

All grantees will be expected to present their work at the weekly UCSF pulmonary research conference.

Application Process

  1. Applications must be submitted by November 2, 2015
  2. The core application exclusive of biosketches and budget justification must be no more than three pages.
  3. Funding decisions will be based upon the criteria outlined above.
  4. Evidence of required human, animal and related institutional review approvals must be submitted before funding is released.

Application Instructions

Format Requirements: Arial font; 11pt minimum; single spaced; 1” margins all sides. Proposals should consist of the following, in order:

  1. Grant Application Cover Sheet.
  2. Proposal: No more than 3 pages (excluding cited literature) that describe the proposed research and indicate its potential significance.
  3. Principal Investigator’s NIH Biosketch (NIH PHS 398).
  4. A detailed one-year budget with justification (NIH PHS 398, Form page 4).
  5. Submit an electronic copy of your application to Ilene Oba at Ilene.Oba@ucsf.edu

Questions may be directed to Jeffrey Golden, MD, at Jeff.Golden@ucsf.edu and any members of the NIPLH Research Committee or the NIPLH Executive Advisory Committee.

NIPLH Director:
Jeffrey Golden at Jeff.Golden@ucsf.edu

NIPLH Research Committee:
Paul Blanc at Paul.Blanc@ucsf.edu
Hal Chapman at Hal.Chapman@ucsf.edu
John Fahy at John.Fahy@ucsf.edu
James Frank at James.Frank@ucsf.edu
Laurence Huang at lhuang@php.ucsf.edu
Michael Matthay at MatthayM@anesthesia.ucsf.edu
Dean Sheppard at Dean.Sheppard@ucsf.edu
Neeta Thakur at Neeta.Thakur@ucsf.edu
Prescott Woodruff at Prescott.Woodruff@ucsf.edu

NIPLH Executive Advisory Committee:
John Balmes at JBalmes@medsfgh.ucsf.edu
Courtney Broaddus at CBroaddus@medsfgh.ucsf.edu
George Caughey at 
Hal Collard at 
Steven Hays at Steven.Hays@ucsf.edu

Stephen Lazarus at Lazma@ucsf.edu

Dean Sheppard at Dean.Sheppard@ucsf.edu

Application Timeline

Application Due November 2, 2015
Grant Selection Notification January 12, 2016
Start Date February 1, 2016

Recent Awardees

Grant Awards for 2014

Grant Awards for 2013