UCSF home page UCSF home page About UCSF UCSF Medical Center
UCSF navigation bar

Innovative Grants Program


  1. Research
  2. Clinical Development


Research Proposals

The NIPLH is seeking submissions for innovative research proposals. Proposals likely to have the most impact will be funded. In addition to high quality of science and innovative approaches, other key components of impact include projects likely to lead to extramural funding for which there is no alternative source of seed funding available.

The 2017 RFA will consider any topic in Pulmonary medicine. However, projects related to the underserved and health disparities, locally and globally, will merit special consideration for acceptance.

Research proposals can be in clinical, translational or bench research, innovative partnerships between clinical and bench research, or in the development of broadly useful and innovative methodologies.

  1. Cellular and molecular mechanisms of lung disease: studies using in vitro and in vivo models of lung disease to reveal mechanisms and suggest novel treatment approaches.
  2. Translational research in lung disease: human studies focused on biomarkers or interventions that advance knowledge of disease mechanisms or disease biomarkers.
  3. Clinical research in lung disease: studies using patient cohorts to advance understanding of disease epidemiology, disease impact, or disease natural history.
  4. Implementation Science (IS): studies focused on integrating research findings and evidence into “real-world” settings. Implementation science recognizes that the impact of interventions is often only a fraction of what was observed in tightly controlled clinical trials or cohort settings.

Clinical Program Development Proposals

The NIPLH will also consider innovations for clinical program development for funding. Such programmatic support can address any topic in Pulmonary medicine. Submissions will be favored that would provide key missing infrastructure to promote the success of any pulmonary divisional activity. Projects can include community engagement and outreach. Submissions should explain how such temporary infrastructure funding would lead to future self-sustaining program benefit.

Proposals: Research and Clinical Development:

Funding amount will be $50,000 per year per award for one or two years (no overhead allowed).

If a two-year proposal is submitted, the plan of work proposed for each of the years should be clearly delineated with a timeline and related budget. In addition, two-year grant submissions should include year 01 milestones. If funded, a progress report at month 10 of year 01 regarding these expected milestones will be evaluated to determine if proposals qualify for release of the second year of funding. The second year of funding is not guaranteed.

Proposals budgeted with prominent salary support for established investigators will not be considered responsive to the goals and objectives of this call for proposals. The number of awards and apportionment between Research and Clinical Development Proposals will depend on the quality of the grants.


Applicant Requirements

RESEARCH PROPOSALS: UCSF Assistant Professors and Pulmonary fellows in their 4th or 5th year of training at UCSF are eligible to apply.

CLINICAL PROGRAM DEVELOPMENT: All UCSF faculty are eligible to apply.

Applicants will not be eligible for the 2017 NIPLH grants if they were funded by NIPLH in 2015 and 2016 or if an on-going NIPLH grant would overlap with a 2017 award.

Partnerships between and among faculty are encouraged, as are applications from non-pulmonary investigators whose work would impact lung health and disease.

Proposals can include collaborations with non-UCSF investigators.

All grantees will be expected to present their work at one of the weekly UCSF pulmonary research conferences.

Application Process

  1. Applications must be submitted by Friday, October 14, 2016
  2. The core application exclusive of cited literature, biosketches and budget justification must be no more than three pages.
  3. Funding decisions will be based upon the criteria outlined above.
  4. Evidence of required human, animal and related institutional review approvals must be submitted before funding is released.
  5. Application Instructions

    Format Requirements: Arial font; 11pt minimum; single spaced; 1” margins all sides. Proposals should consist of the following, in order:

    1. Grant Application Cover Sheet.
    2. Proposal: No more than 3 pages (excluding cited literature, biosketches, and budget) that describe the proposed research and indicate its potential significance.
    3. Principal Investigator’s NIH Biosketch (NIH PHS 398).
    4. A detailed one-year budget with justification (NIH PHS 398, Form page 4).
    5. Submit an electronic copy of your application in pdf format to Ilene Oba at Ilene.Oba@ucsf.edu

    NIPLH Director:
    Jeffrey Golden at Jeff.Golden@ucsf.edu

    NIPLH Executive Advisory Board:
    John Balmes at john.balmes@ucsf.edu
    Paul Blanc at Paul.Blanc@ucsf.edu
    Courtney Broaddus at Courtney.Broaddus@ucsf.edu
    Esteban Burchard at Esteban.Burchard@ucsf.edu
    Carolyn Calfee at Carolyn.Calfee@ucsf.edu
    George Caughey at George.Caughey@ucsf.edu
    Hal Chapman at Hal.Chapman@ucsf.edu
    John Fahy at John.Fahy@ucsf.edu
    James Frank at James.Frank@ucsf.edu
    Steve Hays at Steven.Hays@ucsf.edu
    Laurence Huang at Laurence.Huang@ucsf.edu
    Stephen Lazarus at Lazma@ucsf.edu
    June Lee at June.Lee@ucsf.edu
    Michael Matthay at Michael.Matthay@ucsf.edu
    Dean Sheppard at Dean.Sheppard@ucsf.edu
    Neeta Thakur at Neeta.Thakur@ucsf.edu
    Paul Wolters at Paul.Wolters@ucsf.edu
    Prescott Woodruff at Prescott.Woodruff@ucsf.edu

    2017 Non Pulmonary reviewers: tba

    Application Timeline

    Application Due October 14, 2016
    Grant Selection Notification December 1, 2016
    Start Date January 1, 2016

    Nina Ireland Program for Lung Health Cover Sheet

    Download the cover sheet here.